Merry Christmas, Darling

by lostindrawers

The first of our many Christmas celebrations started this week. Christmas #1 was at my family, the Liles’ parents house.  My family is very food oriented so a “roast beast” and many sides were in order, along with a table full of desserts including my personal all-time favorite, chocolate peanut butter balls.  Think Reese’s but more decadent. Coffee and wassail were passed around from hand to hand.  Heather got to wear her new Christmas outfit, that surprise, I myself picked out for her.  I am biased, but I think she looks as beautiful as ever. Emory joined us for the second part of the festivities, and despite his little attitude resulting from being overwhelmed by Christmas spirit, the traditions were followed, filmed and documented. And yes, Emory got spoiled even more than the rest of us. Art and literature and creativity were the themes of the day, and everyone seemed to have a good time around the Christmas tree.  We love Christmas, and it was just what we needed to get past the pre-Christmas Eve/Day lag and get excited about fun, family and the big day.  We are very blessed, and we always know the source of all the good things in our life.  So, cheers to the Holidays.  And on this first day of Hanukkah, we have much to be thankful for.

