On the Mend

by lostindrawers

One should never think, or say aloud…like I did…”Wow, its been a while since I’ve gotten sick” and then compound the dare to the universe by watching Contagion on HBO. Because the universe might just answer and a couple of days later you get the worst stomach flu (gastroenteritis) of my life. Because that is exactly what happened. My body betrayed me and I saw too much of the bathroom floor tile, as some sort of virus raged through my body. It was traumatic, it was like being pummeled, and most of all it felt like I was cut off from the world. It was not an experience I’d like to repeat, but I was able to get through without any hospital visits by forcing more Gatorade and SmartWater into my system than seemingly necessary and by allowing my husband to hover over me like an rookie nurse looking for approval. So, it’s nice to say that I feel much better, meaning not like death warmed over and with flowers from my husband and a trip around town (sunlight, anyone?)

But what also made recovery better was today’s package arrival from the wonderful Alphabet Bags! Isn’t it always a little extra special to get anything from the UK? We both love all the wonderful items from Alphabet Bags, and this little tote was the perfect item to complement our upcoming return trip to New Orleans for our 3rd wedding anniversary!  So, a HUGE thank you to cutest husband-and-wife-team Lucas and Hayley, not only for your wonderful tote I purchased, but for the personal note and for being all around inspiring and kind human beings!

So, go buy an Alphabet Bag! And enjoy the waning weeks of summer (and your health!) because for us today it feels mighty good to be on the mend.

Heather

