Magic is Coming

by lostindrawers

Well, hello there October, you came super fast, and yet you took your time. But you are here, which means only a few more weeks until the start of the holiday season. With that in mind, Bo and I have made a pact to NOT, and I repeat above all, NOT get stressed out. Why do the holidays always bring that on? It’s a weird mix of happiness, nostalgia and drama for so many people, especially us. What is the answer? We have determined to try and be even more giving, to not be pressured into things we don’t want to do, to keep healthy boundaries around family members, and again…to give, give, give.

Speaking of families, my parents came into town and we enjoyed having them to the fullest. Though we just were with them on vacation a couple of weeks ago, it’s so nice to have that closeness that feels comfortable. We need them closer, as it’s necessary to have family around. They always treat us incredibly well, and come on, who doesn’t want brunch the whole weekend?

Speaking of comfort, ABC Family decided to air both Lady and the Tramp as well as the original Disney’s Alice in Wonderland! Of course, I have both on DVD and VHS, but something about them being on television makes me very happy. But the giddiness I feel? That could just be from Texas actually having a bit of a fall weather snap. Which calls for lots of naps and cuddle time with a little puppy boy that wanted nothing to do with us.

And to end this great Sunday, I finally decided to tackle a chocolate pie recipe my mémé gave me. It’s fairly easy, but was I ready to tackle a recipe so highly regarded by my grandmother. It had a “hunk of butter” in the ingredients list, and well, anything with a hunk I will give it a go. I did it though, but with a store bought pie crust,. I’ve hand made two other pie crusts, and I seem to get them a little thick. So, I thawed it out and stuck it in the oven. And it was simple, and delicious. Today we were going to try Emporium Pies in Oak Cliff, but decided to save it for another day. Because nothing beats a grandmother’s pie recipe, But it is for sure at the top of our list for sure. And because it’s Sunday, Once Upon a Time is BACK! I’ve been waiting and waiting, and I might be mildly obsessed. Thankfully, tonight’s season premier episode did not disappoint. It’s going to be a magical season for sure.

Chocolate Pie

5 T. Cocoa
5 T. Corn Startch
1 C. Sugar
2 C. Milk
1 teaspoon Vanilla
Hunk of Butter
Add cocoa, corn starch and sugar. Mix together. Add milk and eggs. Bring to a boil ,until thicken. Then add vanilla and butter. Pour in baked shell. Cool. (We added Ghirardelli chocolate shavings on top!)

